Semester One and Two
Semester Three
When you enrol as a student at GSA, you automatically become a member of the library. There's no need to join us separately!
Your student card is also your library card. You will need to swipe this at the entrance to gain access, and to borrow books at the help desk or self-issue machines.
You will find all the learning materials relating to your studies in Canvas including project breifs and assignments, timetables, communications from your tutors, and much much more. Login with your GSA network credentials.
GSA Archives and Collections
GSA's Archive and Collections is a rich resource for the study and enjoyment of art, design, architecture and art education.
RADAR
GSA's research repository, providing a digital archive ofresearch and enterprise output provided by Glasgow School of Art staff and postgraduate students.
Student Support Services
Student Support Services offers a range of specialist services to all GSA students, including student welfare, disability support, learning support and couselling and mental health services
Sustainability @ GSA
GSA Sustainability works within the Glasgow School of Art’s curriculum and estate on issues of social and environmental justice.
Neurodiversity is a relatively new term that encompasses many neurological differences including Autism, Attention Deficit hyperactivity Disorder, Dyscalculia, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Tourette's.
Fundamentally, it is the acknowledgement that such neurological differences are not defects, and instead are recognised in the same manner as any other human cognition. Many people with these differences often find themselves affected by other cognitive conditions such as mental illness.
The Student Support Services are available to all students at GSA, and here at the library we strive to do the same. We are embracing diversity in the broadest sense and are striving to create an inclusive environment, one in which our students can feel safe, supported and inspired.
This guide is designed to introduce you to the library, its resources, and to encourage you to utilise it, not just as a place of study, but as an environment in which you can find respite and take some time for self-care. Don’t let library anxiety hinder your education and overall GSA experience. We are here to support you.
Use our library catalogue to find books, eBooks, journals, magazines, films, dissertations and other resources.
We have a collection of books relating to health and well-being in the library snug (next to the main entrance of the library). For specific subjects, you can also check the shelf numbers below
Our books in the library are organised using the Dewey Decimal System. Use the shelf numbers below to find books on topics related to your programme - if you need help finding anything, just ask at our helpdesk on the ground floor!
Understanding Ourselves and Others
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 150 |
Psychology |
| 152.4 |
Emotion & reaction |
| 155.4 |
Child psychology |
| 190 |
Philosophy |
Celebrating Difference
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 305.3 |
LGBTQI |
| 305.31 |
Masculinities |
| 305.4 |
Feminism |
| 305.8 |
Race |
| 371.9 |
Cognition & disability |
Coping with Change & Loss
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 153.1 |
Memory & remembrance |
| 615.85156 |
Arts therapies |
| 616.078 |
Death |
Exploring Faith & Belief
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 270 |
Christianity |
| 294 |
Buddhism & Hinduism |
| 296 |
Judaism |
| 297 |
Islam |
| 299.5 |
Tao & Shinto |
| 299.6 |
African religions |
Caring for Our Bodies
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 612 |
The body |
| 641 |
Food cultures |
| 796 |
Sport & exercise |
Connecting with Nature
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 577 |
Green living |
| 580 |
Plant life |
| 590 |
Animal life |
As well as using the library catalogue, you can also search for eBooks through individual eBook platforms like the ones listed below:
Browse our list of subject-specific journals, magazines, and online resources below to find information and inspiration.
Our super-useful Magazines-on-the-go service enables you to read or download current and past issues of over 30 art, design, architecture, fashion and lifestyle magazines. Read online or download the app for offline reading.
Planet eStream is GSA Library's online platform for streaming video. Access thousands of hours of broadcast film, animation, drama and documentaries, and an increasing number of tutor-created content. Login using your GSA network credentials.
Browse and view past student dissertations, curatorial rationales, critical journals, extended essays, projects and theses from across GSA academic programmes in our library catalogue.
Can't find what you're looking for? If you are looking for a resource we do not hold in the library, you can suggest we purchase it. We actively encourage staff and students to contribute to developing our collection!
Our colleagues in GSA Counselling have compiled a reading list of books that others have found helpful. All these books are available in the library for you to read or borrow.
Storytelling, creative writing and reading have long been recognised for their therapeutic potential and the use of books and reading to support our emotional and mental well-being is known as bibliotherapy. Studies show that reading has therapeutic benefits and is useful in finding and developing strategies for addressing a wide range of difficulties including depression, anxiety and communication or relationship issues. Bibliotherapy can be undertaken independently as a personal journey or guided reading may be recommended as part of working with a counsellor or other mental health professional. Whatever the circumstances bibliotherapy can help you to better understand and find new perspectives or ways of looking at feelings, thoughts or behaviours that trouble you, reflect on your own experience and learn from the experience of others.
Learn about the additional support available in the library for those with a physical, visual, or learning difference.
You can also get in touch with the library using the contact details above, or see the Our Staff section of this guide to find out more about specific members of the team and how we can help!
Our Library & Learning Technology Canvas course provides information about upcoming workshops and training to help you make the most of the Library's resources and learning tools.
New to academic study? No problem!
InfosmART is GSA Library's award-winning portfolio of easy-to-follow interactive modules in information, study and research skills. There are five modules you can work your way through, or you can dip in and out as you need to:
Visit InfosmART on the Library & Learning Technology Canvas course.