Semester One and Two
Semester Three
You will find all the learning materials relating to your studies in Canvas including project breifs and assignments, timetables, communications from your tutors, and much much more. Login with your GSA network credentials.
We've created a map so that you can easily see where to find what you're looking for in the library.
When you discover an item in the Library Catalogue that you are interested in, simply click the 'Locate' pin in its full record to view these maps.
GSA Archives and Collections
GSA's Archive and Collections is a rich resource for the study and enjoyment of art, design, architecture and art education.
RADAR
GSA's research repository, providing a digital archive ofresearch and enterprise output provided by Glasgow School of Art staff and postgraduate students.
Student Support Services
Student Support Services offers a range of specialist services to all GSA students, including student welfare, disability support, learning support and couselling and mental health services
Sustainability @ GSA
GSA Sustainability works within the Glasgow School of Art’s curriculum and estate on issues of social and environmental justice.
Use our library catalogue to find books, eBooks, journals, magazines, films, dissertations and other resources.
Our books in the library are organised using the Dewey Decimal System. Use the shelf numbers below to find books on topics related to your programme - if you need help finding anything, just ask at our helpdesk on the ground floor!
| Shelfmark | Subject |
|---|---|
| 200 |
Faith & belief |
| 305.3 |
LGBTQI |
| 305.4 |
Feminism |
| 305.8 |
Race |
| 320.51 |
Neoliberalism |
| 321.8 |
Democracy |
| 322.4 |
Protest & activism |
| 330.122 |
Globalisation & capitalism |
|
331 |
Labour, poverty & class |
| 335 |
Utopias & redistributive systems |
| 381.1 |
Consumer cultures |
| 577 |
Green living |
| 580 |
Plant life |
| 590 |
Animal life |
| 612 |
The body |
| 616.852 |
Health & wellbeing |
| 629 |
Transport design |
| 641 |
Food cultures |
| 693.832 |
Thermal insulation |
| 693.89 |
Damp |
| 696 |
Energy conservation & efficiency |
| 697 |
Heating & air-conditioning |
| 697.8 |
Renewable energies |
| 700.105 |
Arts & science |
| 711.72 |
Cycling |
| 711.74 |
Pedestrianisation |
| 712.5 |
Parks & public spaces |
| 712.6 |
Gardening & allotments |
| 720.47 |
Green building |
| 745.2047 |
Sustainable design |
| 746.47 |
Eco-fashion |
As well as using the library catalogue, you can also search for eBooks through individual eBook platforms like the ones listed below:
Browse our list of programme-specific journals, magazines, and online resources below to find information and inspiration for your work.
Our super-useful Magazines-on-the-go service enables you to read or download current and past issues of over 30 art, design, architecture, fashion and lifestyle magazines. Read online or download the app for offline reading.
Planet eStream is GSA Library's online platform for streaming video. Access thousands of hours of broadcast film, animation, drama and documentaries, and an increasing number of tutor-created content. Login using your GSA network credentials.
Browse and view past student dissertations, curatorial rationales, critical journals, extended essays, projects and theses from across GSA academic programmes in our library catalogue.
Can't find what you're looking for? If you are looking for a resource we do not hold in the library, you can suggest we purchase it. We actively encourage staff and students to contribute to developing our collection!
Resource Lists contain all the key and additional resources you are required to engage with during your programme. You will find your list in your Canvas course or you can browse all lists.
We are keen to draw on the expertise of other individuals and groups who are seeking to expand library collections and promote curriculum diversification and decolonisation, and have created an Alternative Resource Lists Padlet highlighting some useful resources.
Some of these lists have been compiled by GSA students and staff, whereas others have been created elsewhere. We don't have every book in our collection. Please suggest a purchase on our website if you come across something we don't have.
If you have any comments, or suggestions for links to add/notice any broken links, get in touch library@gsa.ac.uk
New to academic study? No problem!
InfosmART is GSA Library's award-winning portfolio of easy-to-follow interactive modules in information, study and research skills. There are five modules you can work your way through, or you can dip in and out as you need to:
Visit InfosmART on the Library & Learning Technology Canvas course.
Special Collections at GSA Library comprise around 10,000 volumes dating from the 16th century to today. Arranged thematically, many of these volumes were purchased when the School was founded in 1845, though we continue to acquire artist publications to this day. Often highly visual, the volumes cover all aspects of fine art, design, architecture and allied subjects.
Use the library catalogue to browse the rare and historical volumes available to view by prior appointment at our dedicated reading room at The Whisky Bond.
We can help you with:
If you have any questions or would like to book an appointment, get in touch using the contact details above.
Our Library & Learning Technology Canvas course provides information about upcoming workshops and training to help you make the most of the Library's resources and learning tools.
Learn about the additional support available in the library for those with a physical, visual, or learning difference.
You can also check out our Neurodiversity Subject Guide, or get in touch for 1-2-1 support with using the Library using the contact details above.